Texas LODD Task Force

Contact Us

Be The First To Know

©2018 by Texas LODD Task Force

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
  • Twitter

PO Box 925
Friendswood, TX 77546



Wendy C. Norris


Wendy is the founder of Firefighter Ministries and a co-founder of the Texas LODD Task Force.  She serves as the president and chief executive officer. She also serves as the Presiding Officer on the Governor’s Advisory Panel for the Star of Firefighter Texas Awards.  She is a guest instructor for the Texas A&M TEEX fire schools, and a peer advisor for the SOAR program of the Phoenix Burn Society, and a Master Chaplain/Instructor for the Federation of Fire Chaplains.  

Billy Wusterhausen

Vice President/Response Commander

Billy has been a member of the Task Force since 2003.  He serves as a Response Commander and the Vice President. Billy has been involved in the fire service since 1991, where he began as a volunteer and was hired in 1995 with the Round Rock Fire Department. Billy promoted through the ranks and currently serves as an assistant fire chief. Billy has worked in every division of the fire department and is also a licensed paramedic and a commissioned police officer. Billy obtain his associates and bachelor’s degrees in fire science and a master’s in public administration.

Please reload

John Norris

Founding Member/Chief of Staff

John is a founding member and serves as the Chief of Staff.  He provides support services and logistics to the entire organization from administrative to response.  He is a Captain with the Houston Fire Department and a Safety Officer for the Forest Bend Fire Department.  He is a paramedic and holds certifications as a Master Level Firefighter with both the TCFP and the SFFMA.

Dr. John Babler

Board Member/Response Commander

John Babler serves as Professor of Counseling and the Director of the Walsh Counseling Center at Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary.  He has been active in the fire service for over 20 years both as a firefighter and chaplain. He is a chaplain and police officer for the Forest Hill Police Department.  He is a retired fire chief and currently serves as a Board Member and Response Director of the Texas Line of Duty Death Task Force and as Vice President of the Texas Corps of Fire Chaplains. He has authored several journal articles in a variety of fields and has recently published Biblical Crisis Counseling, Not If, but When as well as Counseling by the Book, Revised and Expanded Edition. 

Please reload

Dennis Gifford

Founding Member

Dennis Gifford was instrumental in shifting the mission of the organization to caring for the fallen.  He helped put together the initial framework of the organization and was a successful advocate for us.  He is a liaison for the organization and continues to provide guidance in handling line of duty deaths with volunteer agencies.  He is a retired fire chief of Lumberton Fire.